Dark Chocolate Cacao Nib bark

I bought a bunch of cacao nibs the other day with the intention of eating them by the handful for all their nutritional benefits.  Rich in antioxidants (about 15 times more than green tea!) and essential minerals, it’s a food that will make your body love you back instead of being a guilty pleasure.  Turns out I couldn’t stand the flavor – a bit too bitter for my taste buds.  I even tried eating them in the classic David-Wolfe-inspired-mix; cacao nibs and goji berries.  Didn’t cut it, my taste-buds once again vetoed the nibs.

So I got creative and decided I’d make my own chocolate bar.  I purchased a bag of 70% dark chocolate chips, melted it in a homemade double boiler, added in a handful of cacao nibs, goji berries and a few raisins and voila!  Homemade goodness, complete with Vitamin L(ove). Here’s the recipe:

Dark Chocolate Cacao Nib Bark

1/2 bag dark chocolate chips

1/4-1/3 cup cacao nibs (more if you like it really nibby)

1/4 cup goji berries

1/4 cup raisins

Melt the chocolate in the double boiler until just melted (it can easily be stirred).  Add in the cacao nibs, goji berries and raisins and stir to coat.  Pour mixture onto a wax paper lined baking sheet and spread to desired thickness with a spatula.  Pop into the fridge for 15 minutes, remove and break apart into pieces.

Leave a Reply

